I’m slightly bored….

6 Sep

….with the book club. I love the idea, and the great work of the ladies who are in charge, but I completed the book weeks ago, and have since read others. I suppose this is why book clubs are difficult.

Instead of book-clubbing it this week, how about some recommendations? Very well then.

1. The Millennium Trilogy: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played With Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest – by Steig Larssen

I mean, everyone loves these books. It’s because they’re bad ass. My Kindle reveals that I downloaded books 1-3 within three weeks of each other – they were clearly fast reads. The plot is killer, and although I’m convinced that the Hollywood version* will fall far short because they just can’t possibly bring that much violence to the big screen, the books don’t disappoint.

2. Rockabye: From Wild to Child – by Rebecca Wolfe

Don’t read too much into this title, mother. I like a good memoir, and this one, about an unplanned pregnancy and the journey to motherhood, was sweet and unique. Plus, if I read enough feel-good baby material, I may reduce my self-inflicted anxiety about the possibility of future children. Maybe.

3. So Cold the River – by Michael Koryta

An appropriate disclaimer: I’ve known the author since 7th grade. I was a lock to pick up his newest title, but I’m not the only fan. The best thing about our friendship is the exposure to a genre of books I wouldn’t otherwise try. This novel is a true ghost story, in the vein of Stephen King. Loved it, even when it was a little creepy.

4. The Sky’s the Limit: Passion and Property in Manhattan – by Steven Gaines

Hi. I’m a huge nerd. And a HGTV addict. This book was thus a total guilty pleasure – and only served to fuel my high-priced real estate obsession. Yeah, I could use better hobbies.

*Starring Daniel Craig. Will obviously still watch it because he’ll most likely be shirtless several times.

Leave a Reply

