Before and In Progress: Living Room

19 Jul

I may have mentioned that our house is a money pit. I may also have mentioned that our neighborhood is full of old people. This is a story of basic cause and effect.

The little old lady who owned this home before us was a widow, and the poor dear didn’t do a lick of upkeep to the homestead. Because of this, our house was the cheapest one on the block. Also because of this, everything inside and outside the house closely resembled crap when we moved in.

On our last walk-through of the house, here was the scene:

Here we see: sister, 15+ year-old carpet, old person smell, oak trim, peach paint on walls, two (count ’em) recessed lights, no other light sources, one really old ceiling fan and an oak mantel. I didn’t like any of these things. Just kidding Leah.

I’m really not sure why we even bought this house in the first place – but we did some work. And used lots of Febreeze. After a year of updates, we’re now here:

Here we now see: Banner, new Pergo flooring (Banner-proof), gardenia candle smell, painted white trim, taupe paint on walls, additional light fixtures, new ceiling fan (with light!), fresh white mantel.

And now I’m a little stuck. You’ll see this is a repetitive problem in my decorating process. I see my house. I see Elle Decor. I get distracted in the next five minutes and direct my actions toward more attainable goals, like pouring a glass of Shiraz.

We’ll work on getting to “after” in a……well, later.

3 Responses to “Before and In Progress: Living Room”

  1. Darrell Jerden July 20, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    Inspirational! Did you clean the place just for the pics?

  2. JJ July 20, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    Of course I cleaned! Everyone who knows me realizes that my living room usually has an ironing board and dog hair as additional accessories. 🙂

  3. Leah August 8, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Wow! What an honor to be featured on your blog – but couldn’t you have photoshopped me out of that first pic? 🙂 You also may want to note who painted that marvelous painting over the couch. I’m taking orders!

Leave a Reply

