Visit: Churchill Downs

26 May

The second half of the weekend took us to the track, in celebration of Steve’s mom’s (belated) birthday. As a little girl who watched “National Velvet” more times than the VHS could handle, I was very excited to see Churchill and my first horse races. I was a little less excited when I found out the dress code didn’t require oversized hats.

We had seats in an outdoor box right at the finish, and a table inside in the dining room. Best of both worlds. We entertained ourselves by rotating continually through the buffet, the betting windows, the paddock and back to the box for the races. I can’t even imagine what the place is like on Derby day, but that has certainly climbed into my lifetime Top 10 “To-Do’s.” Contingent on air conditioning and a private box of course.

I won a $11.30 on the day on a box trifecta. Still not quite sure what that means, but who cares? I WON (something).

Leave a Reply

