Resolving

7 Jan

A little behind, yes. But my heart was in the right place, if not a bit late.

2010 Resolutions:

1. Drink more. You should resolve to make goals that are attainable. I look forward to a feeling of accomplishment with every gin and tonic I drink.

I should note that my father is so supportive of this resolution that he is personally promising to make himself someone that I am “forced to drink around in order to tolerate.” I applaud his self-sacrifice.

Note: Doing very well on this resolution so far. Just sayin’.

2. Get in shape, lose weight, blah blah blah.

3. Keep up the (good) work on our home improvements. I’ll let you judge the upgrades for yourself – but I’m fairly thrilled that we’re no longer eating dinner on two tailgating chairs in the middle of our plywood covered living room. Plans for 2010 include: painting the kitchen cabinets, upgrading our appliances, crown molding installed, tiling the bathrooms and otherwise begging for trips to the Pottery Barn outlet.

Note: We’re shopping for new appliances this weekend. Any suggestions??

4. Eat dinner at the table. This is a bit of a stretch, but I do want to make an effort to prepare healthy, home-cooked meals for my dear commuting husband. It would be pretty classy if we could attempt to eat those meals at a table, rather than shoving our mouths on the couch in front of the TV. And it’s a wonder Americans are an obese culture.

Note: I’m already +1 in this category. Was it a fab meal? Not so much – but we ate that somewhat gross dinner at the table. With wine. Another win.

5. Something about trying every day to make an effort at cleaning and organizing. I believe I was thinking that it’d be nice to show off our hard work with the house, rather than the mess we continually create in it. However, the details are fuzzy because my slovenly brain is already blocking this resolution from my memory. Chances of actual accomplishment? LOW.

6. Drink more water. Tried this last year with moderate success. Might as well add it in to increase my odds of meeting any of these resolutions by the time 2011 rolls around.

7. Invest in a hobby. The worst thing about living and working in a college town? Your adult friend pool is rather limited, and your life revolves around sporting events. Finding something to spend time enjoying would be a great reason to get out of the house and might also (gasp!) help me meet some non-college people to drink with. Kills two birds with one stone, duh.

Note: Signed up for a digital photography class already. This resolution thing is just too easy.

I’ll check in with resolution updates, for accountability purposes. Or maybe just to laugh at how ridiculous and far-fetched these will seem in about eight days time. Aim low is the lesson.

Leave a Reply

