Damn the XM

21 May

This winter I purchased a shiny new XM radio for my boyfriend’s birthday gift. The obvious beauty of “plug and play” assembly was completely lost on two lawyers, so we had to make a call to customer service before receiving any semblance of a signal.  Of course, the customer service rep sold the boy on buying a second radio for a mere $6.99 (easy sell) – and VOILA, I get my own radio from Steve as part of his birthday present. This girls, is what I call crafty gift-giving.

The ultimate power of satellite radio is its mass of channels, which I’m convinced must support a Jimmy-Buffett-only station out there somewhere which I have yet to find. NOTE: This is where I admit that I have NO grasp whatsoever on the current music scene, even though I’m not overly old and live next to a live music venue downtown. When “Panic at the Disco” was playing earlier this week, I wasn’t surprised that I had no clue who they were, but was a little shocked when one of my bar review speakers had tickets. I still maintain that I’m cool.

So today, in the car, I heard a catchy, summer pop-type song and turned the radio up. Given how gorgeous the day was and how good I look driving with the windows down, the song just seemed like a perfect May moment waiting to happen. Summer pop music is like chick-lit (which obviously is my favorite): girl meets boy, boy is smitten by her long, skinny legs, the end.

So imagine my surprise and subsequent self-loathing when my XM radio tells me that the song artist is MILEY CYRUS. This girl is Britney Spears waiting to happen and I’m all, bopping along to the beat. I got out of the car and hated myself a little bit – and then considered how I previously (secretly) loved Ashlee Simpson’s CD and then denied it all over town during college (duh).

My XM radio has now forced me into liking Miley Cyrus, but I’ve decided to blame it on how jealous I am of her long, skinny legs instead.

One Response to “Damn the XM”

  1. Jason Rakowski May 21, 2008 at 9:51 pm #

    Good Layout and design. I like your blog. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. .

    Jason Rakowski

Leave a Reply

